

## **Border to Coast Joint Committee**

Date of Meeting:	13 <sup>th</sup> June 2023
Report Title:	Membership of the Joint Committee
<b>Report Author:</b>	George Graham (Director – SYPA)

## **1.0 Executive Summary:**

**1.1** This report sets out the membership of the Joint Committee for the coming Municipal Year for information and recommends that the Committee agree to appoint a Vice Chair at its next meeting in September.

## 2.0 Recommendation:

- 2.1 It is recommended that the membership of the Committee for the coming Municipal Year is noted.
- 2.2 It is recommended that the Committee agree to appoint a Vice Chair at its next meeting.

## 3.0 Election Results

3.1 Following the recent local elections and the annual meetings of the Committee's constituent authorities the membership of the Committee is as set out in the table below which also identifies the Chairs of the relevant Pensions Committees where they are not the same as the member of the Joint Committee. Changes from the previous Municipal Year are noted \*.

PF	Pension Committee Chair	Joint Committee Member
Bedfordshire	TBC (20 <sup>th</sup> June)	TBC
Cumbria	Cllr Doug Rathbone*	Cllr Doug Rathbone*
Durham	Cllr David Sutton-Lloyd*	Cllr David Sutton-Lloyd*
East Riding	Cllr Paul Hopton*	Cllr Paul Hopton*
Lincolnshire	Cllr Eddie Strengiel	Cllr Eddie Strengiel
North Yorkshire	Cllr John Weighell	Cllr George Jabbour*
South Yorkshire	Cllr Jayne Dunn*	Cllr Jayne Dunn*
Surrey	Cllr Nick Harrison	Cllr Nick Harrison

Teesside	Cllr Julia Rostron*	Cllr Jill Ewan*
Tyne and Wear	Cllr Anne Walsh	Cllr Anne Walsh
Warwickshire	Cllr Christopher Kettle	Cllr Christopher Kettle

- 3.2 In addition to the above the two Scheme Member representatives Linda Bowen and Nicholas Wirz remain unchanged.
- 3.3 More than half the Chairs of Pension Committees have changed following this set of elections as have the members of the Joint Committee. In addition, there is some degree of change in the membership of the underlying Pension Committees with Cumbria having an entirely new committee due to Local Government reorganisation. This presents several challenges to ensure the continuing effective operation of the Committee and the wider partnership when such a significant proportion of members are new to their role and the Partnership and have not been on the same journey through the creation of the Partnership as others and when new relationships must be established. Officers and the Company will be looking to provide appropriate support both to Joint Committee members and Pension Committees to address these challenges in the coming months.
- 3.4 Former Cllr Patrick Mulligan from North Yorkshire who was Vice Chair of the Joint Committee is no longer a member of the Committee and therefore the Committee needs to appoint a Vice Chair. Given the significant turnover in membership it would perhaps be sensible to allow members some time to become familiar with each other prior to making such an appointment, which will be for the remainder of the Municipal Year and therefore it is recommended that the appointment of a Vice Chair is made at the next meeting in September.

# **Report Author:**

George Graham - Director - South Yorkshire Pensions Authority.

ggraham@sypa.org.uk

01226 666439